Tags

, , , ,

I’d like to thank Ella Quinn for tagging me line for The Next Big Thing tour. You can find Ella’s original post here: Ella Quinn’s Regency Romance, A Family Affair.

So without further ado, here are the answers to my ten questions! ♥

Book One in the Nelson's Tea Series

Duke by Day, Rogue by Night

What is the title of your book? Duke by Day, Rogue by Night, Crimson Romance, 1st book in the Nelson’s Tea Series.

 

Where did the idea come from for the book? I’ve read pirate novels for as long as I can remember. Errol Flynn and Tyrone Power electrified the screen as Captain Blood and The Black Swan. Gregory Peck portrayed Captain Horatio Hornblower. Kathleen Woodiwiss, Johanna Lindsey, Rosemary Rogers, and Fern Michaels carved out the genre in the 80’s-90’s. Katharine Ashe, Shana Galen, Jennifer Ashley, Shannon Drake and Michelle Beattie continue the adventure today. But the real catalyst for me began with the film series Pirates of the Caribbean and Captain Horatio Hornblower. Suddenly pirates and the Royal Navy were back in vogue. That’s when the idea for my Nelson’s Tea Series began.

What genre does your book fall under?  Historical Regency, set in 1804.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? Hoohoo! (Slaps hands together with glee.) This is the fun part! I love getting inspiration from actors. Jared Padalecki (Supernatural) inspired Percival Avery, Marques Stanton, 7th Duke of Blendingham. Lady Constance Danbury was inspired by Hayden Panetteire (Heroes/Nashville). I love her petite frame and vivacious spirit. You can see images of these two characters, plus Simon Baker (The Mentalist) who inspired Captain Guffald, as well as historical clothing, and odds and ends on my pinterest page:

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Fleeing a forced marriage, a Lady gets more than she bargained for when she’s captured by a rogue and ends up married to a dandy.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? Duke by Day, Rogue by Night is published via Crimson Romance. It’s available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, ITunes and Ebooks.com.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? It took me a year to write Pirate by Night. HQN Mills & Boon had the full manuscript for two years before I accepted the offer from Crimson Romance. From start to finish, it took five years to get this book to readers.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? I ADORE Katharine Ashe and Shana Galen’s books. Also, it’s my hope readers might see a bit of Johanna Lindsey, Kathleen Woodiwiss, and Julie Garwood in my stories.

What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest? I hope exactly what interests me! <g> The men in my Nelson’s Tea Series are willing to do anything for those they love. They are alpha heroes showing military might. Pirates/officers/lords dishing out intrigue, passion, adventure and romance. Disguised, unsuspected by the ton, they are first sons venturing from one romp to another, whether shipboard, ballroom to bedroom, or at the mercy of their commander. One act of fate leads them to destiny. Duke by Day, Rogue by Night is Master and Commander meets The Scarlet Pimpernel.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? Oh, this series has everything wonderful about romance novels, in my opinion, and I hope readers will discover this too. I love to write books with alpha males who’ll do anything to save the ones they love. Add in mayhem, adventure, romance, a bit of a sensual romp, passion, ballroom trappings, society gossip, scandal, and most of all, wit that wins the day, and my stories hope to entertain way into the night. 😉

Since it’s the holidays, I’ve not had time to tag anyone for The Next Big Thing. I’ll add in my links as soon as I can contact authors I know.

Till then, me hearties, what do you love most about romance novels? Any scenarios you’d like to see more of?

Katherine

