Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

published...

published… (Photo credit: LeeDiehr)

Brrrr!!!! The weather is wet and cold in my bay, me hearties. As I try to warm me bones, I’ve been traveling the Internet to get a handle on what’s been going on in the publishing world.

As a new author, I’m curious about all aspects of the publishing industry, chief among them, numbers. How well is my book doing? What are my ‘like’ stats? How many reviews do I have so far? Are the reviews good? And the list goes on and on…

Check out: The Writings and Opinions of Dean Wesley Smith, The New World of Publishing http://www.deanwesleysmith.com/?p=8415 for a peak into how numbers work.

CC MacKenzie told me new authors tend to get twitchy when it comes to numbers and stats. We worry about our little babies as they sit in the stratosphere waiting for someone to adopt them, until the question is raised. Do people think my baby is ugly? Do readers think my book Duke by Day, Rogue by Night sucks? No proud parent/author wants to hear that.

So as a new parent, so to speak, what can a debut writer do to boost sales and get some kind of momemtum going? There are blog tours, yes. I’ve done a bit of that myself. There are giveaways. I’ve done those too. Public appearances help as well, but those opportunities are few and far between. When you don’t have anything to do with pricing your books, everything else is out of your hands. Or is it?

The best defense/offense we have to boost our careers as published authors is to write the next book, and the next book, and the next book. Get the idea? When it all boils down to it, the only thing we CAN control is how big our inventory becomes. I think that’s what made the publishing industry come alive for me. The day I realized I was responsible for stocking my own store shelves, was the day I took a giant leap toward successfully achieving my dreams.

No one can do this for us. We have to sit our butts in the chair and write. I’ve got my new calendar. I’ve posted my goals and am logging my time. I haven’t been successful on hitting every goal I’ve made~yet. It’ll take time to create the habits I want to embody. But… I’m on my way to ensuring I meet all of my goals head on.

Do numbers concern you? How do you compete against writer’s doubt?

Katherine

