Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Pirates are all about treasure, me hearties. Aren’t they? But that’s not all. Pirates have two loves: money and rum. The first, involves sailing off to adventure and pilaging, plundering, and pilfering bootay. The second, well… “Why is the rum always gone?”

Rum

Rum (Photo credit: ballookey)

I’m 7 1/2 weeks into recovery from my surgery and just got back from a whirlwind trip to NYC for my rogue’s college reunion. A great time! (Pictures and more to come next week.) Although my body protested a wee bit from all the exhaustion, I enjoyed myself immensely. In the meantime, suffice it to say, I missed getting to blog more about Talk Like a Pirate Day. Sad, to be sure. (Cue the parrot!)

How to pay recompense… What if I gave you wet money? I’m talking Rum Cocktails, fresh from Kenny Chesney‘s bar!!! Yes, indeedie! And why not? I’ve got a lot of great things to celebrate this week and it’s always 5 o’clock somewhere, right? (Pirate!)

Today, I give you ~ Wet Money:

Pour 1.5 oz. white rum, 3/4 oz. orgeat (almond) syrup, 1/2 oz. green chartreuse liqueur and 1/2 oz. fresh lime juice into a cocktail shaker filled with 2/3 full of crushed ice. Shake well: strain over ice into a tumbler glass. Garnish with lime peel.

Tomorrow, I’ll share another pirate drink for your pleasure!

Blessings,

Katherine

 

