Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Ahoy, me hearties! Jack, Katherine’s favorite rogue, here. Every now and again, Katherine allows me to interview her friends, you know… those Tortuga tarts who write romance. Giving me plenty of options of what to ogle when the rum is gone.

Drinks a swig and corks his jug with an audible pop. Raises his head to see who’s in the audience. 

Collette CameronFor today’s entertainment, allow me to introduce the talented lady, Regency Romance author Collette Cameron, who writes about heroes with names like Ewan McTavish, Ian Hamilton, the Viscount Warrick, and Roark Marquardt, The Earl of Clarendon. “Well propertied names, eh?” Extends a ringed hand. “Welcome aboard ship, m’lady. Ah, ‘er Mr. Gibbs, she’s brought rum!” Licks his lips. “You do know the way to me heart, lovey.”

Clears his throat… “Welcome. Welcome. Step lively. You be a loverly messmate. First question… you were born with a compass that points to…?”

First, if I may, I’d like to thank you for having me as a guest today. I could barely sleep last night, I was so excited.

As for where my compass points. . . a quirky sense of humor.

Oh, you want something a bit more practical?

Hmm, well, besides writing historicals of course, my compass tends to point me toward teaching, despite the fact that I keep trying to gradually step away from the profession.  I keep getting shanghaied into long-term positions for sailors feeling under the weather or who’ve walked the plank—metaphorically, that is.

“Walking the plank?” Fire and blood…. “Dare and be damned, not particularly fond of that meself. Movin’ on… I’ve got pieces of eight in my pocket. Significant treasure, to be sure. If you could have eight pieces with you at all times, what would they be?”

I’m counting my five dachshunds as one, though I’m having a hard time imagining them underfoot on deck. I must have my china tea cup with coffee (liberally does with crème brulee creamer) and although I know you use candles for light, I use scented ones to create a romantic ambience.  I can’t really carry those with me though, can I? What else? Let me see, my reading spectacles have become a necessity, and I really do adore my sparkling water and Cadbury Milk Chocolate.

“Cadbury? Bawcock!” Reaches…

No, I’m sorry, I do not share my Cadbury.  Ever.

“I assure you, Lady Collette, ‘bawcock’ means deserving. I am deserving of said Cadbury chocolate morsel.”

Am I going to have to slap your hand? Move away from the chocolate, or I’ll be forced to reveal my unpleasant side.

“If you insist.” Reaches, recalling being slapped by a cunning wench in Tortuga for the offense of not remembering said tart’s name and, dropping hand, takes a step backward.

Thank you.

Acquiesces…

Alas, in this modern era I find I’m quite lost without my Iphone. What is it you ask? It’s a little box that allows you to communicate with the world.  And finally, either my Kindle or Ipad, so I can read, read, read…about pirates of course.

“Dear lady, I’d be a whiffler without a compass that points to what I want most. I’ll not be willy nilly in my heading. What you need is a compass. Without it, ye’ll get lost in the tempest. Which brings to mind, when did the wind (muse) take hold of your sails?”

Ah well, I had been on the shelf for a good  many years before the muse finally convinced me to take up the quill land try my hand at prose. If I recall, it was in February 2011 that I first sat before my computer and started tapping out Highlander’s Hope. Sorry, there are no pirates in the novel but there is a shipping company and a couple handsome young men that will have stories of their own. One does involve pirates, but I’m afraid I have several books to finish before I can turn to that venture.

“Pirates? Well now, men that pilfer their weasley guts out be worth waiting on. Until then, were there times the Kraken (critics) tried to pull ye down to Davy Jones Locker? If so, how’d ye escape?”

It’s true, I’ve  had times when it hasn’t been smooth sailing, but the rough seas have taught me how to stay on my feet even when I thought was about to be pitched over board or cast up my accounts atop the deck. I found there was always a fellow sailor’s hand ready to assist me, and lend an encouraging word.  I wouldn’t be telling the truth if I didn’t tell you I didn’t have the urge to keel haul someone a time or two.

Shivers… “Keelhaulin’ isn’t for sicklings. Nor is casting up your accounts, unless it be to the quartermaster or by fuddlers after too much rum. Katherine says Nelson suffered seasickness to his dying day. But during a broadside, he was as stalwart as any pirate worth his ilk. What say ye? During a broadside or an attack by barracudas, what do you do to mend your sails? (Replenish the well, so to speak.)”

Copious amounts of chocolate. And I sought the council of other sailors who steered me in the right direction.

“Council? Ah,” nodding, “you mean the Brethren Court. Good egg. I suppose once the course for that coveted horizon had been charted (via your writing journey) you leaned on the council, like any corker would. How long then did it take ye to make port (publication)?”

From the day I sat down to write my first novel until it was published was just over two years to make port. There were a few squalls to weather and a few unscheduled stops at ports of call, but the voyage was quite smooth overall.

“Ye already be familiar with the Brethren Court. So ye know pirates have a code, more like guidelines anyway. What is your code, Lady Collette? (Writing process?)”

I’ve been told I’m a linear pantser. I write beginning to end and know basic plot points before I begin. I let the story and characters take me where they want to as long as I get to the main points I’ve decided to include in advance. It must be the adventurer in me. I do like to map out my characters thoroughly before I begin the voyage, and morning departures are always much better for sailing.

“Captain Teague,” looks over his shoulder to make sure he isn’t there, “be me father. Will Turner captains the Flying Dutchman and that rotgut Captain Barbossa, not Katherine’s daughter’s cat, but the Barbossa who stole me Black Pearl, be pirates all. Who be your all time favorite pirate?” Preens…

Just one? My, that is difficult. So many come to mind, but I have to say Jean Lafitte.

Grimaces…

Today’s guest pirate is Collette Cameron!

Collette Cameron

Award winning, Amazon best-selling, and multi-published historical romance author, Collette Cameron, has a BS in Liberal Studies and a Master’s in Teaching.  A Pacific Northwest Native, Collette is married, has three amazing adult children, and five dachshunds. Collette loves a good joke, inspirational quotes, flowers, the beach, trivia, birds, shabby chic, and Cadbury Chocolate. You’ll always find dogs, birds, quirky—sometimes naughty—humor, and a dash of inspiration in her novels. Her motto for life? You can’t have too much chocolate, too many hugs, or too many flowers. She’s thinking about adding shoes to that list.

Passing ’round the rum… “When a pirate is marooned, a diddy be the ticket. Every tar what sets foot on a ship has a story. What story do you have to tell?”

TheEarlsEnticement3_8503rd

The Earl’s Enticement-Coming May 28, 2014 From Soul Mate Publishing

She won’t be tamed.

A fiery, unconventional Scot, Adaira Ferguson wears breeches, swears, and has no more desire to marry than she does to follow society’s dictates of appropriate behavior. She trusts no man with the secret she desperately protects.

He can’t forget.

Haunted by his past, Roark, The Earl of Clarendon, rigidly adheres to propriety, holding himself and those around him to the highest standards, no matter the cost. Betrayed once, he’s guarded and leery of all women.

Mistaking Roark for a known spy, Adaira imprisons him. Infuriated, he vows vengeance. Realizing her error, she’s appalled and releases him, but he’s not satisfied with his freedom. Roark is determined to transform Adaira from an ill-mannered hoyden to a lady of refinement.

He succeeds only to discover, he preferred the free-spirited Scottish lass who first captured his heart.

Ports:  Website     Blue Rose Romance Blog   Twitter   Facebook

You can connect with Collette on Goodreads, LinkedIn, and Google+  too. Go to her website for the links, her email address, and mailing address.

“Until our next merry meeting! Huzzah and Hoorah!”

Your gentleman adventurer,

Captain Jack Sparrow

 

