Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Captain Jack Sparrow 5It’s a glorious day here at Rogues, Rebels & Rakes when Captain Jack gets to interview a new visitor to the blog. Please raise your mug of rum in hearty welcome to historical romance author Lyn Horner!

“Lady Horner, welcome aboard!” Jack flashes his wicked grin and splays his hands wide. “Do take a moment to inspect me effects, dearie. There be plenty to go around for authors as respectable as yourself.” Offers Lynn some rum, but at her polite refusal, Jack shrugs and takes a swig. “You know I have a compass, luv. It points to what I want most. Where does your compass point to?”

I’ve always been attracted to far off times and places in search of adventure.

“Adventure! You’re a tart after me own heart. Well now… you’ll be needin’ plenty of blunt. I’ve got pieces of eight in my pocket. Significant treasure, to be sure. If you could have eight pieces with you at all times, what would they be?”

Why, chocolate of course. It’s my comfort food in times of stress, better than any drug.

“Chocolate?” Jack shivers and looks at me. “Why do these romance authors always want chocolate? Didn’t you just say you ordered more chocolate doubloons for RT, Katherine?”

“Aye, Jack. Think of it as writer’s rum or even treasure.”

He ponders this, then looks back at Lyn. “Perchance, have you been to Tortuga? No? Will ye be goin’ there then? No?” He shakes his head. “You say you want adventure, m’lady. When did the wind take hold of your sails?”

Lady Muse first blew in when I was a youngster. I made up heroic stories in my head every night before going to sleep. Guess you could call them my lullaby. Unfortunately, I never wrote them down. That came many years later when I was a stay-at-home mom in need of a creative outlet.

Jacks eyes bug out of his head. “Stay at home mom? Lullabies? Should I be expectin’ a slap now? No?” He sighs with relief. “Where was I?” Drinks some more. “Ah, yes. Heroic stories. My favorite! But tell me, were there times the Kraken tried to pull ye down to Davy Jones Locker?”

Yes, more times than I care to remember, usually in the form of editors’ rejection letters.

“Aye, Katherine has been waylaid by them. Mean beasties, to be sure. How’d ye escape?”

Each time I would crawl into my cave and lick my wounds, sometimes for days, sometimes for weeks or even months. Eventually, though, Lady Muse coaxed me to pick up my pen (keyboard) and move on.

Jack lifts his chin. “There be times that’s all you can do, m’lady. Rough seas make for sturdier backs. Which leads to me next question. During a broadside, what do you do to mend your sails?”

Brainstorming with author friends is the best way to prime the pump.

“Prime the pump?” Jack eyes Katherine. “Aye, I can think of a way ye can prime my pump.”

“Jack! You agreed not to make overtures. This is Lady Lyn’s first voyage with us. You mustn’t scare her off.”

“Many pardons,” he says, turning back to Lyn. “Katherine is right. I blame the rum. You did say you liked rum, didn’t you?”

A glass of wine and chocolate help a lot. I also find a nice foamy bath does wonders to open up the brain cells. Characters seem more willing to speak to me then.

At the mention of a bath, Jack squirms. “Rum is good. Of course, I’ve found I can do more than I imagined without it. But I digress… You say you’ve always craved adventure. Once your course for that coveted horizon had been charted, how long did it take ye to make port?”

Decades, I’m sorry to say.

“Decades? Without rum?” Jack gazes heavenward. “Is that even possible?”

I gave up on agents and editors years ago. They never seem to “get” my cross genre stories. I christened (self-published) my first book in 2010 and have since launched six more.

“No rum and yet you are well-propertied. Hmmmm… Ever though of turnin’ pirate? If so, pirates have a code, more like guidelines anyway that help us sail the straight and narrow… toward treasure. What is your code?”

First comes the brainstorming and plotting.

“Things we thoroughly enjoy, right Katherine?”

“Indeed, you and me plus plotting usually equals rum and misadventures, Jack.”

He winks. “Do continue, Lady Lyn.”

Once I have a general idea in mind, I grab a pad of stickum notes, go to my story board (the kind for erasable markers) and start arranging plot points. Next, I type up a rough (very rough) outline, breaking it up into approximate chapters. Then it’s time to actually write. If this sounds easy, it’s not. I write at a snail’s space.

Scrunches his nose. “Snails leave a sticky trail, much like the slime of that sea beastie.” Cringes. “I think I’d better get to the best part of my interview. Who, perchance, is your all time favorite pirate?” Winks.

That’s easy. Captain Jack Sparrow, naturally. You are such a sexy rogue! Sigh.

Jack beams from ear to ear. His hand cups his rum bottle possessively. “Did ye hear that, Katherine? She thinks I’m sexy.”

“Well, Lyn, I think that concludes our interview.”

“Wait!” Jack jumps up and saunters towards Lyn. “You can’t leave now.”

“Oh, Jack!”

Guest pirate: Lyn Horner, author of Historical Romance

Lyn Horner resides in Fort Worth, Texas – “Where the West Begins” – with her husband and several very spoiled cats. Trained in the visual arts, Lyn worked as a fashion illustrator and art instructor before she took up writing. This hobby grew into a love of research and the crafting of passionate love stories based on that research.

Lyn’s Texas Devlins series blends authentic Old West settings, steamy romance and a glimmer of the mysterious. This series has earned Lyn several awards, including two Reviewers Choice Awards from the Paranormal Romance Guild. Book three, Dearest Irish, was nominated for a Reader’s Choice Award on BigAl’s Books and Pals and a Rone Award from InD’Tale Magazine.

Every tar what sets foot on a ship has a story. What story do you have to tell, Lyn?

TexasDevlins4BookBundle2lg

Psychics in the Old West? Yes indeed! Meet Lyn Horner’s Texas Devlins, a trio of siblings descended from Irish Celtic Druids. Each one is blessed with a rare psychic gift. Texas Devlins 4 Book Bundle combines three action-packed western romances and a prequel novella in one package at a bargain price.

 

RevisedCoverWhite Witch (Texas Devlins Origins) — carries Jessie and Tye Devlin through the terrible Chicago Fire of 1871 and showcases Jessie’s precognitive ability.

Newcover2013Darlin’ Irish follows Jessie west in search of the man she has “seen” in prophetic dreams. Will her psychic gift lead her to love or into a deadly trap?

NewCoverredo2013Dashing Irish brings Tye Devlin to Texas. Haunted by his painful empathic gift, he is drawn to Lil Crawford, a cowgirl with a wounded heart. A family feud stands in their way, but a perilous cattle drive gives love a chance to grow . . . if they both survive.

Revisedcoverlg.Dearest Irish stars Rose Devlin, youngest of the three siblings. Rose’s gift of healing leads half-breed cowboy Choctaw Jack to her in desperation, but can romance flourish between them in a time when hatred and racial prejudice declare it an abomination?

http://www.amazon.com/Texas-Devlins-4-Book-Bundle-ebook/dp/B00H6MN4R6

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Texas-Devlins-4-Book-Bundle-ebook/dp/B00H6MN4R6

Ports:  Amazon Author Page    Website    Facebook    Twitter

Lyn’s Brethren Court:

http://cowboykisses.blogspot.com  (2nd Monday of ea. month)

http://sweetheartsofthewest.blogspot.com  (20th of ea. Month)

Special thanks to Lyn Horner for sailing with Captain Jack and me today!

