Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

3076d453b5b24f7942a3f80fde4b6ce2Ahoy, me hearties, from Contemporary & Historical Romance Author Lady Patricia Kiyono’s port of call! Aye, Lady Patricia is here today to answer me interview questions and take part in shenanigans. ARRRR!!! Join us aboard deck, won’t you? And while you’re at it, bring along some rum, eh? We’ve got treasure in store for one lucky commenter today!

“Lady Patricia.” Jack bows with humble swagger then stands to take her hand. “It’s definitely a pleasure to have you on board Rogues, Rebels & Rakes today.” Kisses Patricia’s ringed fingers. Eyes perk over a sparkling piece of treasure on her third ring finger. “Per my normal interview, I start with a question about one’s heading. What does your compass point to, eh?”

Jack_finds_his_headding“The compass pointed far, far east! I was born in the Camp Zama Army Hospital near Yokohoma, Japan. My father was an US Army Civilian working for the Central Exchange, and mom was a secretary in his office.”

Captain Sao Fung“Camp Zama? Yokohoma, Japan? You haven’t run across Captain Sao Feng during your exploits, have ye? No? That might be a good thing. He’ll sell ye out for gold, luv.” Jack’s eyes widen. “Shhh. I’ve got pieces of eight in my pocket. Significant treasure, to be sure. If you could have eight pieces with you at all times, what would they be?”

“I usually travel with just my wallet, which has a pocket for my smart phone! I have an iPhone, which means I always have a phone, a clock, a calendar, a notepad, several books to read, puzzles to work on, a flashlight, and an encyclopedia!”

Blinking. “What magic is this? All eight pieces in one phone?” Looks left then right, pondering whether or not to abscond with Patricia’s treasure. Then realizes he won’t get cell phone service at sea. “Ahem… You mention you’re a well-traveled wench. When did the wind take hold of your sails, m’lady.”

“I’ve always loved to write, but it wasn’t until I retired from full-time teaching in 2005 that I had the time to devote to writing with the goal of publishing.”

“A teacher! I should have known…” Grumbles with an intense dislike of being stuck in a classroom.

Patricia winks. “I joined a couple of writers groups and a critique group, and all those connections helped me make the leap to write and complete my first novel.”

“Well now. A grand leap, it was, luv. You’ve quite the spirit for adventure. Teaching wee ones takes savvy.” Fidgets. “Best to let the young know about dangers of the sea.” Leans forward with hand near his mouth. “The Kraken is a wild beastie. Speakin’ of the Kraken. Were there times it tried to pull ye down to Davy Jones Locker? If so, how’d ye escape?”

Samurai Pirate“When I first started submitting my samurai story―”

Jack Sparrow And RumJack swallows a healthy dram of rum. “Samurai! Sink and scupper me!”

 

Patricia winks. “I was only submitting to agents and editors, but the two main criticisms I got were that the story wasn’t long enough for a historical romance and that the lack of explicit love scenes would prevent it from being published. Fortunately, my writing groups all encouraged me to keep shopping around for a good home for the book, so I didn’t give up.”

“Lack of love scenes. Luv, it’s clear ye’ve never been to Tortuga. If ye had… Well, speaking of broadsides. What do you do to mend your sails, eh?”

“I have far too many hobbies. I was a music major and taught music for many years (still do, part time at a local university), but I hadn’t done much performing until the last few years.”

“Have ye sung the diddy?”

Fifteen men on a dead man’s chest—Yo-ho-ho and a bottle of rum! 

Drink and the devil had done for the rest Yo-ho-ho and a bottle of rum!

“Sorry, Jack. No, I haven’t.”

“What about the Kraken Song, eh?”

Oh forty fathoms deep he walks
With rusty keys his locker locks
Just like hes half asleep he stalks
Forty fathoms deep
Forty fathoms deep he owns
Each sleeping sailor’s soggy bones
The legend they call Davey Jones
At forty fathoms deep

(Read more: Hans Zimmer – The Kraken Lyrics | MetroLyrics)

“No but…”

5cb05c11-3089-45dd-961f-74293ad47be6“Have ye heard this one? I got a jar of dirt, I got a jar of dirt, and guess what’s inside it!”

“No. I spend a few nights each week rehearsing with a few local groups. I also like to sew with our church’s quilt guild as well as another charity that makes hats for homeless and needy.”

Jack preens. “I know this! Lady Katherine has knitted hats for the Downtown Rescue Mission.”

“I also belong to a scrapbooking club that meets monthly, and recently started making greeting cards with a woman who opens up her basement workshop and shows us how to use her materials.”

“By fire and flame, ye ARRR a well-propertied woman, Lady Patricia! But back to that coveted horizon. Once your journey had been charted, how long did it take ye to make port?”

“It took seven years from the time I started my first novel until the time it was released. I’ve sped up a lot since then!”

“Seven is a magical number, eh? A speedy trip to port, if ye ask me! And now, pirates codes, more like guidelines anyway. What is your code, m’lady?”

“I like to look at the overall conflict first. What is the problem that the main characters have to overcome? What are ways that they can do it? After that, I start looking at the characters. What skills do they possess that will help them solve the problem? What problems do they have that might hinder them? And since I write romance I have to think about what it is that could drive them apart. Then I set up scenes that throw them together. I do some planning, but often the characters take me on a completely different trip than I planned!”

“An excellent navigation plan! Now, for the last and most important question of me interview. Your all-time favorite pirate is?

charac_larry_lg“I guess I’d have to say the one I married! Other than that, I guess it would be Larry the Cucumber.”

Jack’s face krinkles. “Your husband I understand. A fine pirate he must be. But Larry the Cucumber? Lady Patricia, I do believe the Kraken has taken your mind to the locker.”

_MG_6982-57Guest pirate: Patricia Kiyono is a retired elementary teacher, a wife, mom, and grandma. But she’s not quite ready for shuffleboard and canasta – there’s too much to see and do! She loves to travel, and likes to infuse some of those experiences in her stories. Patricia also likes to create things – she spends a lot of time sewing, crocheting, and scrapbooking. Unfortunately, organization is not her strong suit. Her family wishes she would spend less time creating, and more time cleaning. Patricia’s first book, The Legacy, was published by Astraea Press in July, 2011. Since then she’s kept busy writing five other books, and had stories appear in two Chicken Soup for the Soul books! Follow her on Facebook and Twitter or visit her blog to find out about her current projects!

Every tar what sets foot on a ship has a story. What story do you have to tell?

CHRISTMAS JOURNEY by Bestselling Author Patricia Kiyono

ChristmasJourney500x750Helen DeGroot is a widow, a mother, and grandmother. Her quiet life in Zutphen includes her children, grandchildren, and church committee work. She can’t shake the feeling that life has something else in store for her. But finances are tight, and her grown sons always seem to need her help.

Mike Sikkema has a high-powered job at a travel magazine. He’s never had time for settling down with a family. But when his brother tells him about their mother’s health problems, he drops everything and heads to Zutphen, Michigan to help out. Apartments are scarce in the small town, so he rents a room from an attractive widow in his brother’s congregation.

The road to self-discovery and happiness can be long and painful. Can these two help each other navigate the journey?

Ports: Patricia Kiyono  Facebook  Goodreads  Amazon  Patricia’s  Blog  Twitter

One lucky commenter will win a digital copy of Patricia’s books A CHRISTMAS JOURNEY and a copy of ROMANCING THE ROGUE Box Set, including Patricia’s story SEARCHING FOR LADY LUCK and a copy of HOLIDAY ESKAPE Box Set, including Patricia’s story CHRISTMAS WISHES. Woot!!!

Thank ye kindly for playin’ pirate with me today, Lady Patricia! It’s been a pleasure!

Blessings,

Jack

 

