Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Ahoy, me hearties! I’m blogging at Embracing Romance today about historical newspapers, in particular the newspaper I researched for my book, The Pirate’s Duchess, one of eight books in the Once Upon a True Love’s Kiss box set.

Trewman’s Exeter Flying Post!

by Katherine Bone | posted in: Boxed Set, historical romance, history, Katherine Bone, Regency Romance, Uncategorized

Readers read historical romance for rare glimpses into the past. For the FANtastical indulgence of magnificent manor houses, Mr. Darcy, Mr. Knightley, budding love, and to escape the mundane. Writers write historical romance to experience adventure, weave stories within a fascinating time period, and bring the past to life. And oh! when historical fact and fiction collide, magic happens. Huzzah!!!

As a historical romance author, I love adding historical information to my stories. The right amount of history and the perfect historical tidbit gives a book three-dimensional qualities. In my Nelson’s Tea Series, research on Admiral Nelson led to a multitude of historical inclusions: the Admiralty’s order to protect England’s shores in 1801, Baroness Chauncey’s attempt to save Nelson’s life at Covent Garden, the Trafalgar Dispatch and Lapenotiere’s 37 hour ride, poetry spawned from Nelson’s death, and the fascinating 16 day trial of Lord Melville, which inspired my third book in the Nelson’s Tea Series, The Rogue’s Surrender. (cont. at Embracing Romance)

In my new Regent’s Revenge Series, I spent a lot of time researching Exeter, England. What better way to discover how people lived than reading historical documents, journals, and newpapers? Sometimes fact is more stranger than fiction!

Head on over to Embracing Romance to read about Trewman’s Exeter Flying Post, one of the longest running papers in Exeter history! I’m giving away a $10 Amazon Gift Card to one lucky commenter. Huzzah!!!

Blessings,

Katherine

 

 

