Have you ever wondered how Regency folks wrote on the same piece of paper that they addressed and sealed? Here is a FABulous look into letter writing during the Regency Era. Luv this! Enjoy!!!

Blessings,
Katherine

Her Reputation for Accomplishment

VigeeLeBrunLetterDetail Detail from Portrait of Comtesse de Cérès, Elisabeth Vigée -Lebrun, 1784. (Toledo Museum of Art)

When I first started looking at online images of letters from Jane Austen’s era last summer, I often felt confused about what I was seeing. Maybe it’s because I haven’t handled real letters from that period to get a first-hand sense of their size and how they were folded. Maybe it’s because different archives photograph their letters differently, making it hard to compare them. Maybe I just didn’t see an explanation that clicked for me. So, although there are many articles and blog posts about Regency letter-writing on the web (see links at the end of this post for some), I’m going to add another one- the post that might have helped me last summer. Do keep in mind that, while there are conventions, individual letter-writers practiced many different techniques in different situations: there…

View original post 1,272 more words

