Captain_JackAhoy, me hearties! Jack is back to interview another victim… ‘er author taking part in Lady Tina Gayle’s #RomanticIdea Summer Blog Exchange! Welcome Lady Linda O’Connor to Rogues, Rebels & Rakes! Huzzah!!!

Jack: Swaggers. Welcome to Lady Katherine’s ship, Lady Linda! I confess it’s always a pleasure when I get the chance to interview an author as established as yourself. May I interest ye in a topple… I mean sipple of rum? No? Well now, I suppose we should get started with our interview then. Every tar sets out with a compass in hand. Where does your compass point to, eh?

Linda: I was born with a compass that points north – I love living in Canada. It also points to science and math, which is why it’s such a surprise that I love writing.

Jack: Science and math, eh? Scrunches nose. Important in navigation and setting one’s course. Whenever I set out on adventure, I keep pieces of eight in me pocket. Significant treasure, to be sure. While ye sail in Canada, what pieces of eight do ye keep with ye at all times?

Linda: Money, money, money, saber, bayonet, cutlass, musket, and flintlock pistol  – they don’t call me No-teeth-armed-to-the-teeth John for nothin’.

Jack: Stares wide-eyed. Ye are a well-propertied wench! Ye’d be handy in a fight.

Linda: Haha just kidding. I’d want fresh air (hard to fit in a pocket though), comfy shoes, cozy chair, warm breeze, sunshine, a sunhat, cold clean water, and hearty mates to enjoy it all with me.

Jack: I’d like to fit in your pocket. Winks. I’ll have ye know that in Tortuga… Shakes head. Belay that. Takes a swig of rum and wipes his mouth. It might be better if I ask about your adventures instead of telling ye mine. When, if ye will, did the must take hold of your sails?

Linda: 5 years ago! I’m a doctor—

Jack: A doctor! Raises a brow.

Linda: Nods. And I realized that there were some basics that patients, especially young adults, should know – mental health symptoms, birth control myths, how to take ownership of their health. I thought hey, maybe I could dole out medical advice in a romance novel.

Jack: I’d go to a doctor if she promised me romance.

Linda: I hoped it would be a bit more appealing than the myriad of educational posters in my office.

Jack: Very! And how long did that take ye?

Linda: My first novel took about nine months to write. I took my time and as the story unfolded in my mind, I wrote it down. Now it takes closer to three months (and fewer dinners are made along the way).

Jack: I take it ye imbibed in some rum to help ye sail through, but were there times the Kraken tried to pull ye down to Davy Jones Locker anyway? If so, how’d ye escape?

Linda: I’ve been pretty lucky since I’m surrounded by supportive friends and family. But if the occasional cranky Kraken spoils my day, I shake it off. –  http://youtu.be/1PcsSz5LNyE

Jack: Mouth hangs agape. Ye have been to Tortuga! Passes the rum. Why, I believe the natives looked rested, instead of restless at your exhibition, m’dear. Shame that. You’re quite light of foot. Chuckles. No broadsides for a sassy wench so what do you do to mend your sails when all else fails then, eh?

Linda: Zumba!

Jack: Zumba? Be that the furry animal from The Lion King? No? Not Simba, ye say? I’m flummoxed.

Linda: (Ye pirates probably haven’t heard of Zumba!) I love dancing. Not that I’ve ever taken any formal lessons, but it hasn’t mattered! I really love being outdoors too, so if it’s a day without a Zumba class, I’ll go cycling or cross-country skiing.

Jack: I’ve an urge to take ye to that coveted horizon with me, m’dear. Every adventure has one. Of course, producin’ your romance for young adults must have taken capital plannin’. How long did it take ye to make port, eh?

Linda: I’m a lucky one there. I’d been writing for about 3 years and finished 4 novels. And I thought the 4th had a spark! I sent if off to 5 publishers and Soul Mate Publishing picked it up. That was very exciting.

Jack: Produces a golden toothed smile. I’m beginin’ to think that we ARR soul mates too. Preens.

Linda: Debby Gilbert and her team are great to work with, but I self-published the 3rd story in the series and caught the bug! I’ll stick with self-publishing for the next one too.

Jack: Bug, ye say? Is it contagious? Shivers and swallows. No? Well, ye must know. You’re the doctor! Honorable and right proud of ye, I am. Pirates have a code, more like guidelines anyway. What’s your code?

Linda: I start with an idea for the beginning, middle, and end of the story and then develop the characters. I try to get to know them very well—

Jack: I’d like to get to know ye well, if ye take wind of me sails…

Linda: And I have to nail down their names. Male names are the hardest because I don’t want to use my sons’ names or the names of any of their friends.

Jack: Sons?

Linda: It has to be a completely new person in my head and not remind me of anyone (kind of like naming a child!). I’ve tried to make a detailed plot outline, but the characters often do something unexpected and it goes off the rails. Usually by the fifth chapter I can start to outline in more detail.

Jack: Speaking of goin’ off the rails… Reveals golden teeth. Who might your favorite pirate be?

Linda: You know, I’m not such a fan of pirates with their stealin’ and lyin’ ways. But I must say, yours is a lovely smile!

Jack: Ye had me at stealin’ and lyin’. Grins.

Linda O'Connor

 

Linda O’Connor started writing a few years ago when she needed a creative outlet other than subtly rearranging the displays at HomeSense. It turns out she loves writing romantic comedies and has a few more stories to tell. When not writing, she’s a physician at an Urgent Care Clinic (well, even when she is writing she’s a physician, and it shows up in her stories 😀 ). She hangs out at http://www.lindaoconnor.net.

Laugh every day. Love every minute.

Every tar what sets foot on a ship has a story. What story do you have to tell, Lady Linda?

Cover PerfectlyHonest600Perfectly Honest by Linda O’Connor

You never know where your words will take you.

When Mikaela Finn agreed to be Sam’s ‘fiancée’ for a weekend, she probably should have told him that she’s a doctor. Sam O’Brien, aka ‘Dr. Eye Candy’, is trying to shed his playboy reputation and convince a small town hospital that he’s ready to settle down.  But when his ‘fiancée’ helps deliver a baby in the middle of the meet and greet, it’s a bit of a shock. If he’d known the whole truth, he might have done things a little differently because somehow his ‘fiancée’ ends up stealing his job and his heart. Not exactly the change he wanted. Lies and deceit – it’s a match made in heaven!

Buy Amazon         Buy Nook         Linda’s Page

Lady Linda’s Ports:

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Amazon Author Page

It’s been a pleasure havin’ ye on board today, Lady Linda! Do come back!

 

 

 

