Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Here’s another wonderful author to interview for the #RomanticIdea Summer Blog Exchange started by Author Tina Gayle, me hearties! Raise your rum in salute and help me welcome aboard Author Carmen Stefanescu! 

captain jack sparrow 4Saunters forward. Waves hand with finesse.

Jack: We’ve been eagerly awaitin’ you on deck, Lady Carmen. It’s been a very busy summer aboard ship and we’re quite content to sit back and learn more about the wonderful authors who’ve made Lady Katherine’s acquaintance. And so, let us begin, eh? Everyone was born with a particular headin’. What does your compass point to, eh?

Carmen: To somewhere to the East. Precisely, East Europe, Romania.

Jack: Romania! Gulps.

Carmen: I am sure you heard about my compatriot Dracula.

Jack: Swallows thickly. Dracula? Ventures close to examine Lady Carmen’s teeth.

Carmen: I am a native of his country, so beware!

Jack: Jaw drops. Not until you promise not to bite me. Lifts rum bottle and takes a swig. Pirates ARR many things, but we don’t drink blood, luv. Raises said rum and allows Carmen to examine the label. Don’t have a taste for it, ye see. We like to pillage, plunder, and pilfer our weaselly guts out. But first, we need pieces of eight in our pockets. Significant treasure, to be sure. If you could have eight pieces with ye at all times, includin’ a cross, what would they be, eh?

Carmen: Hard to tell.

Jack: Eyes pop. A cross? Garlic?

Carmen: A pen, a notebook, my family and my pets. (Family and pets in a miniature form, of course.)

Jack: I knew a man that had a miniature pig once. Oh, ye meant that they’d have to be miniatures in order to fit into your pockets? Blows out air and sighs in relief, thankful Lady Carmen isn’t like Tea Dalma. I figured that out without any rum. Takes another swig. Now where were we. Oh yes. Every ship needs a good bracin’ wind to set it into motion. When did the wind take hold of your sails, m’lady?

Carmen: Quite early, as a pupil, but more seriously after the fall of dictatorship in my land. You see, our people traveled on rough seas for a long time.

Jack: Hard times, eh? A lesson for all to be sure. There be nothin’ worse than founderin’ or getting becalmed or havin’ your ship stolen by Barbosa. Were there times the Kraken tried to pull ye down to Davy Jones Locker? If so, how’d ye escape?

Carmen: I rolled with the punch, stood up again and went on with my work. You can’t please every wench or lad, can you?

Jack: Depends on who’s doing the pleasin’… Preens.

Carmen: De Gustibus as the Latin saying goes.

Jack: De Gusti-who? Ye didn’t just make that up, did ye? No? Well, ye ARR onto something. If I’ve learned anythin’ sailin’ the seas, it’s ye cannot serve two masters. Ye must be true to yourself. If ye aren’t, ye open yourself up to all kinds of attack. So that brings me to my next question. During a broadside, what do you do to mend your sails?

Carmen: Above all, read. Especially in my favorite genre –paranormal, thrillers, horror – and not only.

Jack: Readin’ is good for the soul, they say. Stares into Carmen’s eyes. Though I ‘spect rum serves a more useful purpose. Ye should see the things I can do when I… Clears throat. Movin’ on. Once the course for that coveted horizon had been charted, how long did it take ye to make port?

Carmen: It depends. For me it was a long and tiresome journey. I had no map, no compass only my determination to do it. But it’s a long story.

Jack: I like long stories. Keeps the Kraken away at night. Please go on.

Carmen: Important is that I managed. For me, a non native English speaker, to be accepted and published by a publisher in USA was a dream come true. (Three times already).

Jack: Why you’ve sailed to that coveted horizon and back, Lady Carmen! Congratulations are in order. Pours rum and hands Lady Carmen a dram. Don’t worry. There be plenty for both of us. Pirates have a code, ye know. Share and share alike. Well… Taps chin. The code is more like a guideline anyway. Do ye have a code?

Carmen: Don’t laugh but I’m a bit old fashioned.

Jack: Leans forward, hand on his knee. I’m particularly fond of old-fashioned ladies…

Carmen: I write longhand first—

Jack: Oh, that kind of old-fashioned…

Carmen: And then transfer all on the PC. Time consuming, I know, but every man has his/her hobby horse.

Jack: I’ve no use for horses unless I need to escape the governor. Tends to give one a rash. Frowns and scratches his groin. That impressive moment was without any rum. So that brings me to my last question. Who is your all time favorite pirate, m’lady?

Carmen: Except you,  Agatha Christie.

Jack: Me and a mystery writer? Stands tall and performs a gentlemanly bow with a gallant wave of his hand. I am indebted to you for includin’ me in such great company.

Carmen Stefanescu resides in Romania, the native country of the infamous vampire Count Dracula, but where, for about 50 years of communist dictatorship, just speaking about God, faith, reincarnation or paranormal phenomena could have led someone to great trouble – the psychiatric hospital if not to prison.

Teacher of English and German in her native country and mother of two daughters, Carmen Stefanescu survived the grim years of communist oppression, by escaping in a parallel world, that of the books.

Shadows of the Past

Her first novel, Shadows of the Past, was released in 2012 by Wild Child Publishing, USA. Carmen joined the volunteer staff at Marketing For Romance Writers Author blog, and is the coordinator of #Thursday13 posts.

Trailer for Shadows of the Past: YouTube

 

Lady Carmen, every tar what sets foot on a ship has a story. What story do you have to tell?

Till Death Do Us Part

 

Till Life Do Us Part, Release date June 2016

Barbara Heyer can hear voices of dead people. They whisper of their deaths, seek comfort for those left behind, and occasionally even warn her about future events. But when Barbara’s brother, Colin, is accused of murder, it will take more than her gift to prove his innocence.

Becoming smitten with the handsome investigator, Detective Patrick Fischer, is a serious complication given his assignment to her brother’s case. Barbara senses there is something far deeper—and perhaps much older—than the surface attraction between them. Could that be why she’s visited by a mysterious woman named Emma in her dreams? Could past life regression tie all the seemingly unconnected events together?

Barbara and Patrick must overcome heartache to find the truth to save Colin, and perhaps themselves.

Buy Solstice Publishing          Buy Amazon

You can stalk the author here:

Carmen’s Blog          Twitter          Pinterest           Facebook

Goodreads           Google

Trailer for Till Life Do Us Part: YouTube

~ Excerpt ~

He watched the windows of the house for several days, hidden by the mantle of the falling night. Taking advantage of the cover the lime trees in the garden offered, he avidly followed her every movement across the bedroom. He could have hidden in the attic as he had a few times, watching her through the peephole he’d made, but from here, he could see her better.

He had a cautious nature, yet wasn’t afraid of being spotted. There was little likelihood of his presence being announced to the police as a stalker. After all, they’d been seen together quite often.

./././././.

The first drop of rain fell with a splash on the windshield jolting Barbara back to reality. She opened her eyes and slipped her small handbag into the glove box. The money she received would help her solve many of the “not-for-now” things, like replacing the floorboard in the bedroom and repairing the leaking pipe in the kitchen.

She looked through the windshield at the pelting rain washing over her car. She reached for the key to start the engine when a faint light flickered on top of the steering wheel.

Barbara, Barbara, a voice came, more like a whisper, in her mind. He killed me. He just killed me…

Who are you, dear? Who killed you?

Kathleen… He killed me.

./././././././.

“Detective, please, don’t  think I’m raving, but I have to ask. Do you know someone called Mabel?”

The man riveted Barbara with his dark blue eyes for a moment. Barbara cringed inside. He’ll rebuke me. The man passed a hand over his face and nodding, he answered, “Yes, I know a Mabel. My… my wife.”

“How long ago did she pass away?”

In a voice that was more than a little surprised he asked, “How on earth did you know she’s dead?”

“She’s here,” Barbara replied in a small voice.

His eyebrows shot up in disbelief. The steel in his voice was hard to miss. “What? What are you talking about?” He spun round and looked at the apparently empty space behind him.

Tell him I no longer suffer, Barbara heard Mabel’s voice.

Detective Fisher was still staring blankly around him.

“She wants me to tell you she no longer suffers. She hopes you’ve found in your heart the power to forgive her for committing suicide… for jumping off the bridge.”

The detective looked straight into Barbara’s eyes. The grief she saw in them was almost palpable.

 

Thank ye for allowin’ me to interview ye on Rogues, Rebels & Rakes, Lady Carmen! Wishin’ ye fair winds and the greatest success!!!

