Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Avast! And welcome to Author Tina Gayle’s continuing #RomanticIdea Summer Blog Exchange! Jack is back!

Jack: It’s what all the wenches say when I sail into Tortuga, savvy. But I digress… I’m here to interview another delicious author, Lady Rachelle Paige! So prop up your boots and pour yourself a dram. It be time for fun… ‘er, rum!

Jack_finds_his_headdingWelcome aboard Lady Katherine’s ship, Lady Rachelle! It’s good to have you aboard. Every pirate starts somewhere and I’m sure a talented author like yourself is no different. Preens. For instance, I have a compass that points to what I want most. Where does your compass point to?

Rachelle: Lake Superior and the Apostle Islands.

Gordon LightfootJack: Lake Superior never gives up her dead, luv. I fear the same cannot be said for World’s End. I’d like to see Gordon Lightfoot write that song. Is he still writing music? No matter. Every sailin’ man gathers his own miracle cache to sustain him. I have pieces of eight in my pocket. Significant treasure, to be sure. If ye could have eight pieces with ye at all times, what would they be?

Rachelle: Pictures of my family, they inspire and encourage me everyday.

Jack with RumJack: I luv encouragement where it can be found… with vixens who know how to pop my rum cork just so. Pop! That’s inspiration! Winks and raises a jug, then takes a swig of rum. But that doesn’t leave a lot of room for rovin’, if ye get my meaning. Shrugs. Tends to decrease the likelihood of sailin’ off to calm and smooth waters. When did the wind take hold of your sails?

Rachelle: I started writing this series over six years ago.

Jack: Six years be a long time to dedicate to a cause.

Rachelle: After a few starts and stops, I sat down and wrote the first novel and kept going. Across the Lake is the final full-length novel in the series, but I’m working on a few between the books novellas.

Jack: I enjoy a few ‘between the sheets’ adventures meself. Bedazzles with a golden-toothed smile. During those six years, did the Kraken try to pull ye down to Davy Jones Locker? If so, how’d ye escape?

Rachelle: I’ve been lucky to (so far) only receive critiques on my work, not personal attacks.

Undead MonkeyJack: Be glad ye don’t have to contend with that mutineer Barbosa and his undead monkey or… Peers sideways then checks under the rum barrel. The dreaded black spot.

Rachelle: To be honest, if someone took the time to read my book then I’m going to take the time to read their thoughts and keep those in consideration. Constructive criticism is great.

Jack: Ply the trade. Make a little blunt. Don’t get caught. Get slapped in chains. I’m just a man doin’ my job. Everyone’s a critic… Eyes focus. I’m terribly sorry, Lady Rachelle. I faded away for a moment after I thought I heard ye say people can read. Can they? Takes another drink. If that’s true, what do ye do to mend your sails during a broadside, eh?

Rachelle: I love to travel and find that having a vacation on the horizon keeps me working toward my goals every day.

Jack: A pirate lass ye are then. Why, ye should take to the sea. Stands. Adjusts effects. But I see that your series has already taken you on a grand adventure. Once the course for that coveted horizon had been charted, how long did it take ye to make port?

Rachelle: Last year I decided to take the leap into self-publication with my first novel. Personally it took a long time for me to feel prepared to share my writing with anyone. But the support I’ve received keeps me going forward.

Captain Jack in TortugaJack: First steps are the hardest but reap the greatest rewards, eh? Ah, I remember my first dockin’ in Tortuga as well. That is where I met Giselle. Belay that. Or was it Dorcas? Shivers. Pirates have a code, more like guidelines anyway. What is your code?

Rachelle: Write everyday, no matter what. Even if it’s only a few hundred words, that’s better than nothing.

Jack: My thoughts exactly. Something is always better than nothing. That’s what I tell every young upstart with learnin’ the trade on their minds. First, ye drink a dram. Then ye build up to a jug. Winks. Sadly, that brings us to the end of our delightful time together. But before I hand over the reins of this post back to Lady Katherine, I must ask ye what I’ve waited to ask throughout this entire interview. Who is your all-time favorite pirate?

Rachelle: Jack Sparrow, of course

Jack: Jumps to his feet and kicks his boots together with glee. And that’s what Captain Drake calls a rap!

p4 shrunk

 

Rachelle Paige stumbled into the world of romance novels in college; as a way to help speed up reading through Art History textbooks. After years in the professional world writing dry grant proposals and auction descriptions, she started writing the contemporary romance stories she wanted to read. Setting her books in some of her favorite destinations was her inspired way to require plenty of research trips every year with her family.

 

Lady Rachelle, every tar what sets foot on a ship has a story. What story do ye have to tell?

EB (3)

Nearly a year and a half after his pregnant girlfriend left him for her childhood sweetheart, Ryan Isaacs is finally moving on. He’s bought and renovated a three-flat in Bayfield, Wisconsin. Living in a tiny town across Lake Superior from his ex wouldn’t be his first choice. Staying near his young son, however, made the decision for him. Life is good. But he definitely doesn’t have time for distractions; especially not the beautiful new tenant who’s renting the top floor. Not that she’d be interested in him anyway.

Lauren Clark has to focus. After a decade in Chicago, moving to the middle of nowhere was not the next stop she pictured for her career. Years of soothing bridezillas has worn her out. And being left at the altar has her questioning her purpose. She’s agreed to fill in for her friend Francois at his post as city events manager while he’s on sabbatical for a year. If she has her way, she’ll be gone long before then. There would be no point to starting something with the hunky landlord.

Buy Amazon

Lady Rachelle’s Ports of Call:

Goodreads          Twitter           Website           Facebook           Amazon Author Page

Thank you for allowin’ us to get to know a bit more about you and your books, Lady Rachelle! Enjoy your summer!!!

Blessings,

Katherine

 

