Love books with duels!

Jenna Jaxon Romance--because passion is timeless.

Monomachy:

“A duel.” from Samuel Johnson’s Dictionary of the English Language, 1755.

220px-yevgeny_onegin_by_repin

Even though I’ve written about duels  in my romance novels Only Scandal Will Do and the upcoming Only A Mistress Will Do, I had not come across this term for single combat. It is apparently from the Latin “monomachia,” taken from the Greek “monomakhia” (mono=single and makhia=fighting).

duelAlthough in my books duels are usually fought with swords, by this time duels could just as well occur using dueling pistols. In fact, next year’s Only Seduction Will Do will have a duel with pistols.

As I am a big fan of Hamilton The Musical, I

Hamilton-Burr duel Hamilton-Burr duel

should feel remiss not mentioning that famous duel between Alexander Hamilton and Aaron Burr was fought with pistols. And the American forefather seemed to be spoiling for “monomachies,” because in addition to this famous duel, Hamilton himself received/issued almost a…

View original post 24 more words

