Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I experienced a once in a lifetime opportunity this weekend. I met President Thomas Jefferson! Woo-hoo!!! Well, I should add I actually met famed historical scholar Bill Barker, who portrays Jefferson, 1800-1808, and is associated with Colonial Williamsburg. What a thrill!

The event I attended was West Point’s 250th Founders Day celebration. (Happy Birthday, West Point! Go Army! Beat Navy!) Mr. Barker, dressed in period costume, never once stepped out of character throughout the night. And you can imagine my glee when I discovered Barker was in attendance. His clothing, his mannerisms, everything about his speech and sentence structure, reminded me of characters in the series I’ve written, 1801-1810 England.

Read the rest of my story at Embracing Romance!

