Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been doing a lot of pondering lately about my life and how much time I spend at the computer or writing in one of my book bibles. So many stories to write, so little time seems to be my mantra these days. Black Sails just ended. (Major bummer! Shout out #BlkSailsBrethren!) Outlander is back on. (Yeeaauuss!) I’ve discovered the new Daredevil series on Netflix. (OMG!!! So addictive!) I’ve got several DVDs on sailing ships, the Captain Horatio Hornblower Series with Ioan Gruffald (Swoon!) and several others to watch. Bitten is back!!! (Love Clay!) Penny Dreadful is returning. (Who doesn’t want to find out more about Josh Hartnet’s character?) And of course, there are several great shows I like to watch on t.v. It’s so hard to stay focused, especially with so many media outlets vying to capture my attention online and off. I love it all!

Let’s not forget it’s also spring! My garden raised a signal flag. “S.O.S!” LOL!!! Guess what I’ll be doing soon?

Something’s got to give.

My goal to start blogging regularly again has been blown out of the water fast. Yikes! (There’s nothing like looking at the blog and seeing the date of my last post.)

A tough editing schedule on MY LADY ROGUE, A Nelson’s Tea Novella #2, disintegrated my brain cells in February. (I’m still trying to recover!) In March, I took a FABulous week vacation in Cozumel! The only concession my rogue made me agree to, no Internet for a week. Let me tell you, my timbers really shook. But I learned something during that wonderful lazy week on the beach… I can survive without constantly being stimulated by social media. And you know what? The rest and lack of distraction rejuvenated my brain cells!

For the past two months, I’ve taken the opportunity to read some great writing books. The goal? Whip my brain and muse into shape. What a jacked up way to get back in action! My muse has taken control and I’m raring to go! It’s swashbucklin’ time!!! Kowabunga dudes!

Here are the great books I’ve read recently:

500 Ways To Be A Better Writer by Chuck Wendig

500 More Ways to Be a Better Writer by Chuck Wendig

Writing Fast and Well by Charles Tesla

Blockbuster Book Broken Down by Kristen James (Phenomenal!!!)

Self-Publishing ATTACK! by James Scott Bell

30 Days in the Word Mines by Chuck Wendig (LOL funny!!!)

Write Better, Faster by Monica Leonelle

How to Make a Living as a Writer by James Scott Bell

If you’re frustrated and are looking for a way to boost the muse, I highly recommend reading Chuck Wendig! He’s a genius in the way he breaks down sections of his books into the top 25 and uses laughter mixed with writing mojo tips for success. Priceless!

If you’re looking for ways to streamline your writing and write faster like I am, you can’t go wrong with Kristen James‘ book!!! She breaks down movies and uses story arcs as examples. Again = priceless!

As I said, I’m way behind. We still have to download pictures from Cozumel. Once we do, I’ll share posts on our adventures there.

Garrick Seaton is getting antsy. He wants his book written because everyone else in Nelson’s Tea has had their HEA! I must obey this stalwart pirate or else!

Until next time, I wish you fair winds!

Blessings,
Katherine